Mozart’s Flute Concerto No. 2 with Still, Wiren & Stravinsky

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 07/21/2021
8:00 pm - 9:30 pm

St Mary's Church

Utah Symphony Principal Flute Mercedes Smith performs Mozart’s Flute Concerto No. 2, a reworking of his Oboe Concerto with a light, elegant opening; melancholy slow movement; and virtuosic final movement.

The remainder of the program features three pieces from the mid-twentieth century, opening with the lush Mother and Child (1943) from William Grant Still and Swedish composer Dag Wirén’s best-known composition, his spirited Serenade for Strings (1937). The evening concludes with Stravinsky’s “Dumbarton Oaks” (1938), which draws inspiration from Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos.

More information